Casa Beachcomber Reviews

“Excellent,.

Returned to UK after a two week holiday in the “Garden Apartment” of this Lovely Villa.

This villa and the surroundings is tranquility with a capital T. It is in a beautiful setting with coded security gates, the gardens, pool area etc. are just perfect for relaxation. The caretaker of the property (Colin) is just something else, he is a real character, extremely helpful and can’t do enough for you, a very genuine and fun guy. Myself, Celia, Pat and Tony enjoyed every minute of it and our chats with Colin.
Definitely on the list for a return visit.

Ronald Turpin   October 2016

 ********

“Great Place’’

Stayed with a large group of 14 Golfers.

Colin couldn’t have been more helpful and Casa Beachcomber was perfect.
Thanks for making our trip fantastic.

B Stimson   May 2015

 ********

Thank you we had such a perfect day and such a wonderful stay at Casa beachcomber. We were so pleased that we chose Casa Beachcomber for our special day and holiday the villa was even better in real life than it looked on the website which rarely happens, all our friends fell in love with the place . We have already talked about coming again and hiring the whole villa.

B Coulson  September 2014

 ********

 “Could not believe we had found such a gem of a place’’

Where do I start, First time renting directly from and owner and had some real concerns, but dealing with Agatha dispelled these concerns immediately. From the first enquiry to the final query everything was dealt with professionally and promptly. Then when we arrived, could not believe we had found such a gem of a place, if you think it looks incredible in the photos, you wait until you see it in real time!!
We had booked the whole villa for 14 of us, with an age range between 11 and 73 split into 4 groups. We used 4 apartments as main accommodation and the other 2 were used for cooking and socialising. If you want to dine with a view of an evening, I recommend the balcony apartments outdoor area, what a fantastic 180 degree view. I cannot praise the villa highly enough. Everything about it is perfect. The accommodation, the grounds the pool area, everything. Agatha even arranged for a table tennis to be purchased for the site following an enquiry I made with regards if there was anywhere we could rent one in for the duration of our stay. Colin was always on hand to deal with any issues we had but was never in the way.
As mentioned in other reviews, walking to the beach, marina, supermarket and town is not an issue all within a 15 to 25 minute stroll away, dependent on pace of walkers. Even our 73 year old guests enjoyed the walk, and when they did not fancy the walk there were plenty of taxis at hand at very reasonable prices 6-8euors for a taxi (not per person) Half way through our stay we hired cars to explore other regions within the Algarve, but still preferred to walk locally.
We would definitely return to Casa Beachcomber, 100%. If you do decide to book this place I can guarantee you will not be disappointed. Thank you for helping make a family holiday so memorable.

C Watkins   September 2014

 ********

‘’Loved this place’’

We stayed at Beachcomber while looking for wedding venues in the Algarve. From the moment we contacted the owners, we knew this was a special place. As we went there off-peak, we had the gardens to ourselves and chose to stay in the upstairs apartment which overlooks the gardens. The inside of the villa we stayed in had a bit of a rustic style and was very clean. There were lots of nice touches such as fresh bread, tea, coffee, jam and milk on arrival. Colin the caretaker was so helpful and showed us all of the different apartments.
I would definitely visit again, perhaps even as a big group, as we could each have separate apartments but share the pool and have lots of BBQs etc. I think this potentially a great wedding venue too!

C Lush   July 2014

*********

“Wedding at Casa Beachcomber”

I really don’t know where to start there’s so much to say!! I live and work in the Algarve and spotted this villa driving the shortcut to Lagos Marina, the lovely grounds caught my eye and I thought it would be perfect for our relaxed wedding. From the moment I got in touch with Agatha she was so friendly and always quick to respond, then Paulo and I met Colin who showed us the gardens and the apartments and we knew it was the place we wanted to celebrate. You even have a sea view from the Balcony apartment!

We hired the villa for a week, it was completely perfect our friends and family were all wowed by its understated beauty (a few said they felt like celebrities walking through the gates and another said it looks like something from Hello magazine hehe). The best thing about it is that all the family could stay with us and each have their own space to relax in their apartments, then we could all come together in the gardens. The decor in the apartments is perhaps a little dated but it gives it a really cosy feel which we loved.

The pool and jacuzzi were a big hit with everyone, on the wedding day we used the barbeque in the pool area and had a big barbeque/buffet that was a huge hit with our guests. I run a wedding business here in the Algarve called Unique and Chic Weddings ~ if you find the page on Facebook you’ll see so many beautiful pictures of the gardens of Beachcomber we’ll be adding even more soon and sending them on to Agatha, I’ve attached a few to the review. Colin really does do a wonderful job with the flowers and the lawn and he was so helpful. (Oh and his dogs are lovely I have to get that in!).

I also have a disabled sister, she can only walk with sticks or uses a wheelchair and she had no problems at all at the villa. There are only a few steps to tackle and each apartment has very accessible bathrooms close to the bedrooms.

My hubby and I are in talks of hiring the villa for family and friends every wedding anniversary I’m really hoping that goes ahead, I’ll love it even more without the stress of a wedding to organise ~ it’s at such a great price I’d recommend it to anyone looking for a lovely holiday in Portugal, or a wedding of course! Sorry to keep going on but we really did have the best week of our lives we’ll always have very fond memories of Beachcomber. Don’t hesitate, get it booked 🙂 A huge thank you to all the team!!

A. S Pierre   October 2013

 *********

“A total Relaxing Time”

We stayed at Casa Beachcomber 4th to 11th April 2013, taking the whole apartment complex for our family party of 15. This was our first ever trip to Portugal and we were just delighted with everything. Within an hour of our arrival the kids were in the pool! even though the water was still rather cold but the hot tub made up for that. Colin helped us sort out which apartment was suitable for each family and provided extra beds for the kids rooms so that they could be together. We had a totally relaxing time knowing that the kids were safe in the spacious grounds and they had a great time.

The weather was very good and we made good use of the BBQ on several evenings sitting around the pool area with the lovely scent of the orange and lemon trees. The grounds were extremely pleasant to wander around and the flowers and plants were beautiful.

We were very comfortable in our individual well equipped apartments and the whole set up was ideal for the needs of each of the individual families making up our party, with seven children ages ranging from 2 to 11. Everyone found something about Lagos that they loved, even the younger boys who found a shop selling Lego!! We all would love to go back.

Graham, Valerie & family   April 2013

 ********

 “A Gem of a Place”

Casa Beachcomber is a gem of a place lucked away from the hustle and bustle but within walking distance of the Marina and Lagos town a little further on. Having rented private villas for many years in large groups it was great to be able to avail of the same facilities but with a 1 bed apartment. From the moment of arrival there is a sense of peace and calm within the large grounds which are beautifully maintained by Colin. The selection of restaurants at the Marina is great but across the river and into the old town you are spoilt for choice. Coffee and brandy’s in the square listening to lovely music and then a pit stop at the marina before heading up the hill home. We took trips out to Sagres, Aljazur , Vila nova de Milfontes and the mountains of the Alentejo. Definitely hope to be back in the future.

Ruth & Barry   September 2012

 ********

18 of us stayed @ the beautiful Casa Beachcomber 18-25 August 2012, what an amazing place to celebrate my 40th birthday!

It was a great setup for mixed families & couples as we all had our own privacy & self-contained apartments & would recommend it for any celebration for large groups!

It has great facilities with the bar area by the pool, plenty of sun loungers, hot tub & lovely pool. I stayed in the Balcony apartment, which has amazing views & very cool at night, probably more so than the other apartments. Would definitely return again as Agatha made the booking process so easy & gave me loads of info on transfers from the airport, a beautiful boat trip for my 40th, with Bom Dia, and recommended the Bahia beach bar, where 30 of us had a special meal for my birthday. Thanks Casa Beachcomber for a memorable stay at a beautiful villa, perfect for a large crowd!

 D Phillips   August 2012

 ********

‘’The villa was amazing’’

Even though it was a little out the way this was not a problem, it was a 25 min stroll into Lagos or a 4 euro taxi ride and the taxis were excellent and prompt. There was everything we needed and Colin the caretaker was brilliant and helpful. Booking was easy and Agatha was always prompt and more than helpful with my enquiries. We booked the villa’s for my daughters hen weekend but are already planning a return trip next year with our partners. Thank you for making our weekend so special and memorable.

K Bree   June 2012

********

“Wonderful villa Apartments were Excellent so was Colin the Caretaker”

Our party was a large family group of twenty. The apartments were very spacious . The pool and Jacuzzi were also brilliant. Colin was very helpful and charming . I would highly recommend this facility for large family groups. We really enjoyed our stay and had a great time.

D Sean   August 2012

 ********

Just a note to let you know what a wonderful time we had at your villa all 17 of us loved the apartments and were taken back on how much room we had. The grounds were amazing and the pool and hot tub had lots of use! We found it very easy with the directions you gave us and had the pleasure of meeting Colin what a character! Thank you again for making our holiday such a good one!

D Collinson & Family        September 2011

********

‘’ The rooms were all beautiful – huge! ‘’

A group of 17 of us rented the 6 apartments during May 2010. The apartments are spacious and spread out just enough so we could enjoy our own privacy, but close enough and large enough so we could get together and party!

On arrival at the Villa gates we punched in the security code and our breaths were taken away by the luxurious property which confronted us.  It was far larger and far more spectacular than the photos had portrayed and we couldn’t believe this was all “ours” for the next two weeks.  We were greeted by Colin the caretaker – a lovely guy who was so helpful throughout our stay, plus he knew exactly how much attention to give us – he was there when we needed him, joined in when we asked him to, but stayed out of the way enough to allow us to feel uninterrupted when required.  The rooms were all beautiful – huge! Even the smaller apartments were much larger than other 1-bedroomed apartments we’ve stayed at around Europe. They were spotlessly clean, and equipped for all of our needs.

We enjoyed at the numerous bar-b-ques we had around the pool in the evenings.  And talking of the pool – that too was fantastic. All 17 of us had a fantastic time in the pool together and there was still plenty of room!  Early evening we all retired to our own apartments for a bath or shower and a bit of rest, then we got together at one of the large patio areas for some relaxing drinks before heading off out to eat/drink.

Lagos Marina and town is lovely – loads of restaurant and bars. After our evenings out we tended to catch taxi’s back – these were between 3.50 to 5.00 Euros for 4 people, so very reasonable.

The weather during our stay (May 15-29) was great – warm sun most mornings and then boiling hot in the afternoons – but we did have a couple of days of rain.  The only thing to do during these times was to watch TV or read one of the various books at the villas, but it was actually a welcome break from the heat. All-in-all this was one of the best holidays we’ve taken.  The apartments were certainly the best ever and Lagos was lovely.  I would thoroughly recommend these apartments for people of all ages and groups of 2-20, as we certainly plan on returning.

K Regan   May 2011